Eight Limbs of Postpartum Yoga: Conclusion

Hopefully I have inspired you with these steps toward a more peaceful and balanced motherhood experience. I have found that, in my own short career as a mother, asking for help is the first step. If you are willing to ask for help from a more seasoned parent, you may find that the answers may come without ever getting the response for which you asked. The mere act of being open for help is the key.

I don’t claim to be an expert on ashtanga, or the Eight Limbs of Yoga; I struggle with many of the limbs on a daily basis. But I find them fascinating because this knowledge has been with us for so long. And since I have begun to study them and apply it to raising my own daughter, I have found that it works. As a mother, I want to pass on this ancient wisdom to my daughter so she can learn it early and put it into practice. Watching my own little yogi, I’m sure, will be an amazing experience.

One of the most difficult challenges I had as a mother is coming to terms with not breastfeeding my child. Looking back, I was too overwhelmed with the arrival of my daughter to get the help I needed to make breastfeeding work. In a phone call to my yoga teachers about a week or two after my daughter’s birth, I wept as I told them my struggles and how I felt like I was such a failure. The answer that I didn’t really expect to hear was this: isn’t it so amazing that there is formula available for women who can’t nourish their child from their bodies? Be grateful that you have this tool to keep this beloved creature alive. They also reminded me that my daughter had chosen me for a reason and that I had much to learn from her. (Typing these words still make me cry.) How right they were.

If anything, motherhood is nothing but a constant practice of letting go of your preconceived notions of what life should be or look like. It is nothing like what you will expect it to be. Life never goes to plan. The joy is always in the journey.



For background, see: “An Introduction”, Asana, “Pranayama”, “Yamas“, “Niyamas“, “Pratyahara“, “Dharana“, “Dhyana“ and “Samadhi

Series sources can be found here.


One response to “Eight Limbs of Postpartum Yoga: Conclusion

  1. Pingback: Eight Limbs of Postpartum Yoga: Samadhi | yoga after baby·

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s