Workshop 3, Day 1

The four means of SalvationOMsymbol

Jnana Yoga, one of the four paths of yoga, means knowledge of Brahman, or God — or whatever higher power in which you believe. A sadaka, or aspirant, has a spiritual practice, which is called sadhana. To dig deep and find vidya, or knowledge, you can turn to the Four Means of Salvation.

1. Viveka: discrimination between what’s real and unreal, or the permanent and the impermanent, or the self and the nonself. We can achieve viveka through unceasing karma service. Through viveka, we can see clearly samsara. Samsara translates as the wheel of life. There are six waves in the Ocean of Samsara: birth and death (physical), hunger and thirst (pranic) and exhileration and grief (mental). These are all forms of duality.

2. Vairagya: dispassion or nonattachment. We can mentally detach from worldly things.

3. Shad Sampat: aka the Sixfold Virtue

  • Sama: serenity or tranquility of mind. We can remove our desires.
  • Dama: control of the senses. Otherwise, a latent desire will trigger a samskara, or mental impression/habit.
  • Uparati: satiety/complete satisfaction. To keep the mind absorbed in spiritual growth, we can practice 1) sravana, hearing the words of the Vedas and/or our guru; 2) manana, thinking and reflecting what you just heard; and 3) nididhyasana, meditation upon it, or the way of life.
  • Titiksha: endurance/forebearance
  • Sraddha: faith in practice, in the Vedas, in your teacher, in yourself. Experiencing it endures.
  • Samadhana: fixing your mind/attention on Brahman or the Self

4. Mumukshutva: intense desire for liberation


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s